Geometry and Lie theory. Applications to classical and quantum mechanics

Dedicated to Eldar Straume on his 70th birthday.

Trondheim, November 3–4, 2016


  • Alain Chenciner, University of Paris 7
  • Boris Doubrov, Belarusian State University, Minsk
  • Claudio Gorodski, University of São Paulo
  • Sigbjørn Hervik, University of Stavanger
  • Wu–Yi Hsiang, University of California, Berkeley
  • Arnfinn Laudal, University of Oslo
  • Valentin Lychagin, University of Tromsø
  • Andrew Swann, Aarhus University
  • Dennis The, University of Vienna
  • Vladimir Tkachev, Linköping University
  • Burkhard Wilking, University of Münster
  • Henrik Winther, University of Tromsø
With special joint contribution from Bjørn Jahren and Lars Sydnes.

Scientific and organizing committee

  • Boris Kruglikov, University of Tromsø
  • Pedro de M. Rios, University of São Paulo
  • Marius Thaule, NTNU
  • Alexander Vasiliev, University of Bergen

Local organizing committee

  • Lars Sydnes, Westerdals Oslo School of ACT
  • Marius Thaule, NTNU


All talks will take place at NTNU in auditorium F3.

November 3 Speaker
10:00 – 10:10 Welcome!
10:10 – 11:00 Alain Chenciner (slides)
11:10 – 12:00 Valentin Lychagin (slides)
12:00 – 13:30 Lunch
13:30 – 14:20 Boris Doubrov (slides)
14:30 – 15:20 Dennis The (slides)
15:20 – 16:00 Coffee
16:00 – 16:50 Wu–Yi Hsiang (lecture notes)
17:00 – 17:30 Special joint contribution from Bjørn Jahren and Lars Sydnes
19:30 Dinner at Vertshuset Grenaderen
November 4 Speaker
09:30 – 10:20 Burkhard Wilking
10:30 – 11:20 Claudio Gorodski (slides)
11:30 – 12:00 Vladimir Tkachev (slides)
12:00 – 13:30 Lunch
13:30 – 14:20 Sigbjørn Hervik (slides)
14:30 – 15:20 Andrew Swann (slides)
15:20 – 16:00 Coffee
16:00 – 16:30 Henrik Winther (slides)
16:40 – 17:30 Arnfinn Laudal (slides)


All abstracts as one PDF file.

Alain Chenciner: Angular momentum and Horn's problem

Boris Doubrov: The classification of three-dimensional homogeneous spaces with non-solvable transformation groups

Claudio Gorodski: Representations of compact Lie groups and their orbit spaces

Sigbjørn Hervik: Wick rotations and holomorphic Riemannian geometry

Wu–Yi Hsiang: A new local invariant of sphere packings and clean-cut solutions of sphere packing problems

Arnfinn Laudal: Noncommutative Algebraic Geometry, Topology, and Physics

Valentin Lychagin: Quotients

Andrew Swann: Torus actions and Ricci-flat metrics

Dennis The: Symmetry gaps for geometric structures

Vladimir Tkachev: Hsiang algebras of cubic minimal cones

Burkhard Wilking: Computing the Euler characteristic of positively curved manifolds under logarithmic symmetry assumptions

Henrik Winther: Submaximally Symmetric Quaternionic Structures


Name Institution
Helmer Aslaksen University of Oslo
Nils A. Baas NTNU
Aleksandra Borówka Jagiellonian University
Alain Chenciner University of Paris 7
Boris Doubrov Belarusian State University, Minsk
Tor Flå University of Tromsø
Claudio Gorodski University of São Paulo
Sigbjørn Hervik University of Stavanger
Wu–Yi Hsiang University of California, Berkeley
Bjørn Jahren University of Oslo
Trygve Johnsen University of Tromsø
Finn Faye Knudsen NTNU
Boris Kruglikov University of Tromsø
Arnfinn Laudal University of Oslo
Valentin Lychagin University of Tromsø
David McNutt University of Stavanger
Gereon Quick NTNU
Jon Reed University of Oslo
Pedro de M. Rios University of São Paulo
Hans Jakob Rivertz NTNU
Alexander Schmeding NTNU
Alexander Schmitt Freie Universität Berlin
Eivind Schneider University of Tromsø
Eldar Straume NTNU
Andrew Swann Aarhus University
Lars Sydnes Westerdals Oslo School of ACT
Marius Thaule NTNU
Dennis The University of Tromsø
Vladimir Tkachev Linköping University
Burkhard Wilking University of Münster
Henrik Winther University of Tromsø
Arezoo Zohrabi University of Turin

Travel information

Trondheim is accessible through Trondheim International Airport. We recommend Comfort Hotel Park.

Contact information

Marius Thaule